PRESS RELEASE: Charter Commissioners Oath of Office

City of Flint’s Newly Elected Charter Commissioners Take Oath of Office as First Step in Task of Charter Review

Flint, Michigan – May 19, 2015 – In accordance with the Home Rule City Act, members of the City of Flint’s newly elected Charter Review Commission were sworn in to their elected positions. Each of the nine commissioners took the oath of office during a meeting held in the City Council Chambers of Flint City Hall. Today marked the beginning of work on a charter that has not seen revision in forty years; the current charter was adopted in 1974.

Mayor Dayne Walling congratulated the commissioners and offered encouragement on the monumental task ahead of them. “The task ahead of the commissioners is great and they will need the full support and engagement of the public to succeed,” the Mayor said.

The commissioners expressed eagerness in approaching their work. Commissioner John Cherry noted his excitement on being a part of the commission: “we’ve got a great group of commissioners and we are going to do a very thorough job of reaching out to folks and producing a document the city can be proud of.” Commissioner Brian Larkin echoed those sentiments: “it’s a thrill and an honor to be elected and to be involved in shaping Flint’s future,” said Larkin, “I’m really excited to see what that’s going to look like.”

Charter commissioners sworn in were:

  • John Cherry
  • Cleora Magee
  • Victoria McKenze
  • Charles Metcalf
  • Brian Larkin
  • Heidi Phaneuf
  • Jim Richardson
  • Marsha Wesley
  • Barry Williams

Pin It on Pinterest